prog: 1810
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

I’m Afro

In 2010-2011 Nova hosted an Astro Black Mythology series. Refining these shape of the presentations / listening sessions, bringing them into schools, cinemas or apartments, Pierre Deruisseau continues his transmission of mythology within African-American music. Along the way, a new episode is born!

3,5€ / 2,5€ (soirée / avond)


Albert Ayler, John and Alice Coltrane, Pharoah Sanders, Don Cherry, Sun Ra, the Art Ensemble of Chicago ... Through a 1960s spiritual jazz sound path an intimate musical experience unfolds: "to play in the spirit." But what is this notion? What links spirit (s) and music?
Addressing many myths and beliefs about the relationship between music, stars and spirit (s) (be they African, Greek, Sumerian or biblical), drawing parallels between the sound practices that were born with the spiritual jazz of the Americas; this episode explores our connection to the universe, and questions our "inspiration".
A poetic listening session, steeped in a dialogue with musical astronomy - we focus here on this simple and profound dimension: how, for a whole range of African-American musicians, can playing such music become a real spiritual practice, and a source of "empowerment".

"We must stop confusing religion and spirituality. Religion is a set of rules, regulations and rituals created by humans, which was suppose to help people grow spiritually. Due to human imperfection religion has become corrupt, political, divisive, and a tool for power struggle. Spirituality is not theology or ideology. It is simply a way of life, pure and original as was given by the Most High of Creation. Spirituality is a network linking us to the Most High, the universe, and each other…"

· Haile Selassie I

25.07 > 20:00


Marcel Camus, 1958-1959, BR-IT-FR, 35mm, ov st fr & nl, 107'

Brazilian favela adaptation of the legend of Orpheus - one of the most unique in Greek mythology - from the work of the poet Vinicius de Moraes. A musical with songs by Antonio Carlos Jobim and Luiz Bonfá, bossa nova and samba open up to European ears.

"I (Vinicius) then found myself in Niteroi, in the house of my cousin, the architect Carlos Leão. And one day at dawn, while I was trying to think of a story from Greek mythology the myth of Orpheus, (...) I started to hear from a nearby hill o morro do Galvao, a batucada."


At its presentation at the Cannes festival in 1959, the film was shown in Portuguese without subtitles. It received the Palme d’Or nonetheless! As Orpheus, Camus manages to seduce and captivate the minds of the public, using images, music and the vitality of his interpretation of the myth.

"Gifted with Apollo’s attributes, Orpheus knew how to charm wild animals and inanimate beings moved by the sounds of the lyre that God had given him. Traveller hero, his song enables the Argonauts to resist the danger of the sirens.
He married Eurydice, but on their wedding day she is bitten by a viper, dies and goes to the realm of Hades. After putting Cerberus, the monstrous three-headed dog that guards the entrance, to sleep, Orpheus confronts Hades. He plays his music and is let away with his beloved; on condition that she follows him and he not turn around or speak as they return to the living world. As Orpheus is leaving Hell, he cannot resist the temptation to look at his beloved Eurydice and she disappears permanently."

25.07 > 22:00


DJ set

Mix

Fever Spirits breathe FIRE Rainbow Colours, HYPNOSIS
DRUMS D R U M M U S D R S Talk! Luister, arise in Wandel
ManA, Mojo, LET’S gEt Reborn!

After the film, on the decks: Greg Erwin / Pierre Deruisseau.

25.07 > 24:00


25.07 > 19:30



squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: en
id_rubrique: 1811
prog: 1810
pos: aval

prog: 1810
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

I’m Afro

2010-2011, en trois programmations, le Nova accueillait le cycle Astro Black Mythology, alors naissant. Peaufinant la forme de ces exposés/séances d’écoute, les amenant en écoles, cinémas ou appartements, Pierre Deruisseau continue sa transmission des mythologies au sein des musiques afro-américaines. En cours de route, un nouvel épisode est né !

3,5€ / 2,5€ (soirée / avond)


Conférence

In the Spirit, We(’re) Play(ed)

You’re the instrument, the stars are playing with

Albert Ayler, John et Alice Coltrane, Pharoah Sanders, Don Cherry, Sun Ra, l’Art Ensemble of Chicago… Au travers d’un parcours sonore dans le spiritual jazz des années 1960-1970 se dévoile une expérience intime dans le jeu musical : "to play in the spirit". Mais à quoi renvoie donc cette notion ? Quels liens entretiennent esprit(s) et musique ? Et les étoiles là-dedans ?
Abordant de nombreux mythes et croyances quant aux liens entre musique, étoiles et esprit(s) (quelles soient africaines, grecques, sumériennes ou bibliques), mettant en parallèle les pratiques sonores qui en naquirent avec ce spiritual jazz des Amériques, cet épisode approfondi en musique notre lien à l’univers, questionnant ainsi notre "source d’inspiration".
Session d’écoute poétique, plongée dans une musique dialoguant avec l’astronomie - on s’attachera ici à cette simple et profonde dimension : comment, pour toute une série de musiciens afro-américains, le jeu d’une musique étoilée devient une véritable pratique spirituelle, génératrice d’"empowerment".

"We must stop confusing religion and spirituality. Religion is a set of rules, regulations and rituals created by humans, which was suppose to help people grow spiritually. Due to human imperfection religion has become corrupt, political, divisive and a tool for power struggle. Spirituality is not theology or ideology. It is simply a way of life, pure and original as was given by the Most High of Creation. Spirituality is a network linking us to the Most High, the universe, and each other…"
- Haile Selassie I

25.07 > 20:00


Marcel Camus, 1958-1959, 35mm, vo st fr & nl, 107'

Adaptation dans les favelas brésiliennes de la légende d’Orphée - l’une des plus singulières de la mythologie grecque*- à partir d’une pièce du poète Vinícius de Moraes. Film musical, aux chansons écrites par Antônio Carlos Jobim et Luiz Bonfá ; il révéla la bossa-nova et la samba aux européens.
"Je (Vinicius) me trouvais alors à Niteroi, dans la maison de mon cousin, l’architecte Carlos Leào. Et, un jour, à l’aube, alors que j’étais en train de penser à une histoire de la mythologie grecque, le mythe d’Orphée, (...) j’ai commencé à entendre d’un morne voisin, o morro do Galvào, une batucada".
Lors de sa présentation au festival de Cannes en 1959, le film fut passé en Portugais sans sous-titres. Il reçu néanmoins la Palme d’or ! Tel Orphée, Camus avait réussi à séduire et envoûter les esprits du public, par les images, la vitalité et la musique de son interprétation solaire du mythe.

"Comblé de dons par Apollon, Orphée savait charmer les animaux sauvages et émouvoir les êtres inanimés, par les accents de la lyre que le dieu lui avait donnée. Héros voyageur, son chant permis à l’expédition des Argonautes de résister au danger du chant des sirènes, dont il parvint à surpasser le pouvoir de séduction.
Il épouse Eurydice, mais lors de leur mariage, celle-ci est mordue au pied par une vipère, meurt et descend au royaume des Enfers. Après avoir endormi de sa musique enchanteresse le monstrueux chien à trois têtes qui en gardait l’entrée - Cerbère, Orphée arrive à approcher le dieu Hadès. Il arrive à le faire fléchir grâce à sa musique et ce dernier le laisse repartir avec sa bien-aimée, à la condition qu’elle le suive et qu’il ne se retourne ni ne lui parle tant qu’ils ne seraient pas revenus tous deux dans le monde des vivants. Alors qu’Orphée s’apprêtait à sortir des Enfers, il ne put résister à la tentation de contempler sa bien-aimée, Eurydice disparaissant définitivement".

25.07 > 22:00


DJ set

Mix

FEVer, SpIriTs SOuFfle, FEU RAinBow, cOlorS, HYPNOSIS
DRUMS D R U M S D R U M S Talk ! LuiSter, lève toi En wANDel
ManA, MOjo, LET’s gEt reBoRN !

Après le film, aux platines :
Greg Ewing / Pierre Deruisseau.

25.07 > 24:00


25.07 > 19:30



squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: fr
id_rubrique: 1811
prog: 1810
pos: aval