prog: 1788
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

Return of the ballroom (episode 1)

Urban rites around dance, new courtesy codes to be found, informal invitations, the body moving in a confined space, dialogue from hips to shoulders, seduction games and sexual parades, cockfights and collective rumba!



The century-old habit of gathering in a set place to meet through dance (in groups or couples) has been progressively devalued, neglected, or even cancelled from our social life. It’s a rather surprising phenomenon, because the urge to assemble and dance is something really common among human beings. Dance is a silent agreement between people, a universal need to mark the moments of passage, even simply those between one week and the next. At the beginning of this new century, the wish to feel the pleasure of dancing together is reappearing.
Joannah Pinxteren, dance anthropologist, will talk to us about the dance floor (or village square), where the meetings take place; the pleasure of dancing, with codes, forms of politeness, directions in space. The conference will be focused particularly on Afro-Cuban dances: mixed dances combining the legacy of slavery and European bourgeoisie. Joanna Pinxteren’s film Moi aussi je suis jeune and other extracts related to the Danzón will illustrate the conference, followed by an initiation to these dances.

+ African Nostalgia

To make you dance the rumba, a trio of talented, well-known musicians from the Belgian-Congolese scene will animate the ball: Dieudos (guitar and voice), Papa Boni (congas and voice), Jeanjou Kawend (guitar and voice) + Dj T 42, who will pull out of his boxes music from all times and places: calypso, mambo, samba, waltz, cumbia, tango, rumba, rock, swing, cha-cha-cha, Charleston, forro, etc.

25.05 > 20:00
Combi > 10€ / 7,5€


John Ford, 1948, US, 35mm, ov st fr & nl, 128'

John Ford introduces a ball scene in most of his great films. Without mentioning them all, we can remember The Searchers, My Darling Clementine and of course Grapes of Wrath, where it comes straight from Steinbeck’s novel. These scenes always play a key role in between tension and release, a climax where the director’s beloved community comes together and the relationships between characters take a turn.
In this case, Henry Fonda plays the stiff reactionary (echoing General Custer) whereas John Wayne is calm, subtle and moderate: a delightful role switch! Shirley Temple in the part of a mischievous adolescent and Victor McLaglen complete this impressive cast. Filmed in the Monument Valley, there are also many scenes set within the military camp, two of which are dancing ones: one at Fonda’s arrival at the camp and the other on the eve of the final battle, when conflicting characters are forced to dance together out of propriety. An invitation to “dance together” through the best of cinema…

02.06 > 18:00 + 07.06 > 21:00
5€ / 3,5€


Robert Wise, 1961, US, 35mm, ov st fr & nl, 155'

The ball scene in West Side Story is the heart of the musical. That’s where Sharks and Jets confront each other gently before the tragic battle and where Tony meets Maria, the final straw for the two rival gangs.
And yet the ball in the gym, organised by social workers and the police on purpose for the young to meet, was meant to solve the antagonism through dance. The local officer acting as oafish chaperon and John Astin (Gomez Addams in The Addams Family, Professor Gangreen in the Return of the Killer Tomatoes) as dumb MC, failing at mixing the two communities, are must sees!
In CinemaScope and Technicolor, blaze of glory of the studio era, West Side Story is a brave film, tackling contemporary social issues with charm and delicacy. Breath-taking New York exteriors frame a reconstruction of the West Side through stylized decors which, lit up in a theatrical and dreamlike way, serve a daring adaptation of Romeo and Juliet. Add Bernstein’s music… The antithesis of an auteur film… magical!

02.06 > 20:30 + 08.06 > 21:00
5€ / 3,5€


squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: en
id_rubrique: 1795
prog: 1788
pos: aval

prog: 1788
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

Retour du bal (épisode 1)

Rites urbains autour du bal, codes de courtoisie à réinventer, invitations informelles, pratique du corps en mouvement dans un espace confiné, dialogue des hanches aux épaules, jeu de séduction et parades sexuelles, combats de coqs, et rumba collective !



Pratique séculaire de se rassembler sur un lieu donné pour se rencontrer dans la danse (en groupe ou en couple), le bal a été progressivement dévalorisé, négligé, voire effacé de notre vie sociale. Phénomène assez étonnant, car s’il y a bien quelque chose de commun aux humains, c’est leur besoin de se réunir pour danser. La danse est un accord tacite entre les hommes, un besoin universel de marquer les passages, fût-ce celui de passer le pont d’une semaine à l’autre. À l’aube de ce nouveau siècle, le désir de retrouver le plaisir de danser ensemble se fait ressentir.
Joannah Pinxteren, anthropologue de la danse, viendra nous évoquer la piste de danse, (ou la place), lieu où se jouent les rencontres. Plaisir de danser. Avec des codes. Des civilités. Des directions dans l’espace. La conférence sera principalement axée sur les danses afro-cubaines ; danses métisses s’il en est puisqu’elles combinent l’héritage des esclaves et de la bourgeoisie européenne. Le film de Joanna Pinxteren "Moi aussi je suis jeune", ainsi que plusieurs extraits en relation avec le danzón, illustreront cette présentation qui sera suivi d’une initiation à ces danses.

+ African Nostalgie

Et pour vous faire danser la rumba, le bal sera pris en main par un trio composé de noms talentueux bien connus de la vie musicale belgocongolaise : Dieudos (guitare et chant), Papa Boni (congas et chant), Jeanjou Kawend (guitare et chant) + DJ T 42, qui puisera dans ses bacs de musiques de tous lieux et toutes époques : calypso, mambo, samba, pan, valse, cumbia, tango, milonga, rumba, rock, swing, cha-cha-cha, charleston, forro, etc.

25.05 > 20:00
Combi > 10€ / 7,5€


John Ford, 1948, 35mm, vo st fr & nl, 128'

John Ford concocte une scène de bal, centrale et entraînante, dans la plupart de ses grands films. Sans les énumérer tous car ils sont nombreux, on peut évoquer "The Searchers", "My Darling Clementine" et bien entendu "Grapes of Warth" où la scène apparaît déjà dans le roman de Steinbeck. Ces bals jouent toujours un rôle important entre tension et relâchement, un climax où la communauté, si cher au cinéaste, se rassemble et où les relations entre personnages prennent un tour nouveau.
Ici, Henry Fonda est le réactionnaire rigide (écho du Général Custer) tandis que John Wayne est calme, subtil et mesuré. Ce qui constitue une inversion des rôles réjouissante. Une Shirley Temple en adolescente espiègle et un Victor McLaglen bonhomme complètent cet impressionnant casting. Tourné dans la Monument Valley, le film comporte aussi plusieurs scènes d’intérieur dans le camp militaire dont deux scènes de bal : l’une à l’arrivée de Fonda dans le camp et l’autre à l’aube de la bataille finale où les personnages en conflit se voient contraints par les convenances de danser ensemble.

02.06 > 18:00 + 07.06 > 21:00
5€ / 3,5€


Robert Wise, 1961, 35mm, vo st fr & nl, 155'

La scène de bal de "West Side Story" est le nœud de ce film musical. C’est là que les "Sharks" et les "Jets" s’affrontent gentiment avant la tragique bataille, et c’est là que Tony rencontre Maria, goutte de vase qui fait déborder l’eau entre les deux gangs rivaux.
Et pourtant, ce bal dans le gymnase, organisé par les travailleurs sociaux et la police, pour que les jeunes se rencontrent, voulait résoudre cet antagonisme par la danse. Il faut voir l’agent de quartier en chaperon lourdaud et John Astin (le Gomez Addams de la famille du même nom, le prof Gangreen de "Return of the Killer Tomatoes") en MC peu subtil, ne parvenant pas à faire se mélanger les deux communautés !
En Cinémascope et Technicolor, chant du signe de cinéma de studio, "West Side Story" est une œuvre courageuse qui aborde avec grâce et finesse des situations sociales contemporaines. Des extérieurs new yorkais à couper le souffle encadrent une reconstitution du West Side dans des décors stylisés éclairés de manière théâtrale et onirique au service d’une adaptation osée de "Roméo et Juliette", et de la musique de Bernstein… L’antithèse du film d’auteur… magique !

02.06 > 20:30 + 08.06 > 21:00
5€ / 3,5€


squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: fr
id_rubrique: 1795
prog: 1788
pos: aval