prog: 1769
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

Varia

Prima Nova

Sleepless Djigit

Marc Recchia & Christophe Rolin, 2012, BE, video, ov st fr, 49'

Since the fall of the Soviet Union, an economic crisis has shaken the former republics of Central Asia. Kyrgyzstan has been particularly affected. Between 1991 and 2010, more than 500,000 people have left the country. Following the Osh riots that hit southern Kyrgyzstan in June 2010, many refugees have followed. Djigit is a word of Turkish origin used in Central Asia to describe those who have mastered the art of cavalry - virile and courageous men... who remain in the country. Tokon is one of them. A retired professor, he writes poetry when he gets a break from the hard work of the farm. Increasingly isolated in his home town, will he, despite his old age, continue as the valiant Djigit he needs to be in the eyes of his family?
In their first film, Marc Recchia and Christopher Rolin offer an insight into traditional family values ​​in a world that seems to have vanished.

In the presence of Marc Recchia.

05.04 > 20:00
Free


In 2012, the American duo "A Hawk and A Hacksaw" toured with a live soundtrack project for the classic Soviet film "Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors". This film was their inspiration, but they’ve always been fascinated by the folklore and music of Eastern Europe and the Balkans. The film also gives a very important place to music. What the accordionist drummer and violinist sought was not therefore to replace the soundtrack, but to accompany it, to respond to it. The experiment was a success and they subsequently developed pieces inspired by the film to make an album, "You Have Already Gone to the Other World" (listen to a sample), that they will present in concert. The live soundtrack tour is well and truly finished, but we take this opportunity to present this magnificent movie as a taster for the concert!

Here you can listen to a new track: http://soundcloud.com/qu_junktions/a-hawk-and-a-hacksaw-you-have

Film: 7 p.m.
Concert: 9 p.m.

www.ahawkandahacksaw.net

07.04 > 21:00
7,5€ / 6€ Combi > 10€ / 7,5€


Film

Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors

Les chevaux de feu

Sergeï Paradjanov, 1964, USSR, 35mm, ov st fr, 97'

Adapted from the Ukrainian short story "Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors" and located in the Carpathians in a distant time, "Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors" tells the tragic love story of a young couple separated by the hatred to which their families are devoted. In a break with Russian realism, this film is almost experimental with its staging and its expressionist colours, giving a supernatural dimension to this story steeped in religious symbolism, folklore and magic. The film is striking both as a work of fiction, and as a work of ethnology. Its aesthetic power and poetry are as captivating as its music.

The screening will be followed by the concert of A Hawk and a Hacksaw whose new CD is inspired by the film (at 9pm).

07.04 > 19:00
5€ / 3,5€ Combi > 10€ / 7,5€


What better time than the month of April to show films from your last holiday (they must be edited at time of writing), your dust-gathering masterpieces, your experiments in whatever format (35mm, 16mm, Super8, Beta, Blu-ray DVD, DVcam, mini DV ... except no video files, USB keys or DCPs). To make sure you’re on the bill for this spring evening, send us your films of up to 15 minutes long at least one week before the screening (Nova, 14 rue d’Arenberg, Brussels 1000)... liable to immediate and merciless censorship!

25.04 > 20:00
Free


Films-Performance

Cartune Xprez

Special Effect - Live cinema from the future

Peter Burr & co., US, , 70'

New York video-performer Peter Burr, founder of the Cartune Xprez "label" that we welcomed back in 2010, is back with a new hybrid show. "Special Effect" is a project inspired by the film "Stalker" by Tarkovsky and the concept of "the Zone". Presented as a live communication with the future through "special effects" and an ingenious interactive setting, the show features 18 underground animation shorts, made especially for this show by James Duesing, Amy Lockhart, Yoshi Sodeoka, Billy Grant, Michael Bell-Smith, Ola Vasiljeva, Jacob Ciocci, Andrew Benson, Jeff Kriksciun, Chad VanGaalen, Philippe Blanchard, E*Rock, Luke Painter, Brandon Blommaert, Stu Hughes, Devin Flynn, Michael Robinson, Sabrina Ratté, Ben Coonley and Brenna Murphy.

http://specialeffect.peterburr.org/

27.04 > 20:00
6€ / 5€


The Microboutiek, madam, is a distribution hub for books, CDs, fanzines, DVDs, K7
and other desktop publishing items. You can come discover the many rarities that
arrive or drop off your creations, Microboutiek is powered by its own public. Don’t
hold back!



squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: en
id_rubrique: 1780
prog: 1769
pos: aval

prog: 1769
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

Varia

Prima Nova

Sleepless Djigit

Marc Recchia & Christophe Rolin, 2012, video, vo st fr, 49'

Depuis la chute de l’Union soviétique, une crise économique secoue les anciennes républiques d’Asie centrale. Le Kirghizstan a été particulièrement touché. Entre 1991 et 2010, plus de 500.000 personnes ont quitté le pays. Suite aux émeutes de Osh qui ont agité le sud du Kirghizstan en juin 2010, de nombreux réfugiés ont suivi. Djigit est un mot d’origine turque utilisé en Asie Centrale pour désigner ceux qui maîtrisent l’art de la cavalerie, des hommes virils et courageux… ceux qui restent au pays. Tokon est l’un d’eux. Professeur retraité, il écrit de la poésie quand le rude travail de la ferme lui en laisse le temps. De plus en plus isolé dans son village natal, restera-t-il malgré son vieil âge le valeureux Djigit qu’il doit être aux yeux de sa famille ? Pour leur premier film, Marc Recchia et Christophe Rolin proposent une introspection autour des valeurs familiales traditionnelles dans un monde qui semble être en extinction.

En présence de Marc Recchia.

05.04 > 20:00
Gratis


En 2012, le duo américain A Hawk and A Hacksaw tournait avec un projet de Live soundtrack sur le classique soviétique "Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors". Ce film avait en effet de quoi les inspirer, eux qui sont depuis toujours fascinés par le folklore et la musique d’Europe de l’est et des Balkans. Le film, parlant, donne qui plus est une place très importante à la musique. Ce que l’accordéoniste-batteur et la violoniste proposaient donc n’était pas de remplacer la bande-son, mais bien de l’accompagner, de lui répondre. L’expérience fut un succès et ils ont par la suite développé les morceaux inspirés du film pour en faire un album, "You Have Already Gone To The Other World" (écouter un extrait), qu’ils nous présenteront ce soir en concert. La tournée du Live soundtrack est belle et bien finie, mais nous saisissons cette occasion pour proposer ce magnifique film en avant-goût du concert.

www.ahawkandahacksaw.net

07.04 > 21:00
7,5€ / 6€ Combi > 10€ / 7,5€


Film

Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors

Les chevaux de feu

Sergeï Paradjanov, 1964, 35mm, vo st fr, 97'

Adapté de la nouvelle ukrainienne "Les ombres des ancêtres oubliés" et situé dans les Carpates à une époque lointaine, "Les chevaux de feu" conte l’histoire d’amour tragique d’un jeune couple séparé par la haine que se vouent leurs familles. En rupture avec le réalisme russe de l’époque, le film est presque expérimental avec sa mise en scène et ses couleurs expressionnistes, donnant une dimension surnaturelle à ce récit imprégné de symbolisme religieux, de folklore et de magie. Le film marque autant comme œuvre de fiction que comme document ethnologique. Sa force esthétique et sa poésie sont aussi envoûtantes que sa musique.

La projection du film est suivi d’un concert du groupe A Hawk and a Hacksaw qui s’est inspiré du film pour leur nouveau CD (à 21h).

07.04 > 19:00
5€ / 3,5€ Combi > 10€ / 7,5€


Quel meilleur moment que le mois d’avril pour nous montrer les films de vos dernières vacances (ils doivent être montés à l’heure qu’il est), vos chefs d’oeuvres qui prennent la poussière, vos expérimentations en tout format (35mm, 16mm, Super8, Beta, Blu ray DVD, DVcam, mini DV... sauf en fichier vidéo, clef USB ou DCP). Pour être certain d’être à l’affiche de cette soirée printanière, envoyez- nous vos films de maximum 15 minutes au plus tard une semaine avant la séance (Nova, 14 rue d’Arenberg, 1000 Bruxelles)… sous peine de censure immédiate et sans pitié !

25.04 > 20:00
Gratis


Films-Performance

Cartune Xprez

Special Effect - Live cinema from the future

Peter Burr & co., , 70'

Peter Burr, vidéaste-performeur new-yorkais, fondateur du "label" Cartune Xprez que nous accueillions déjà en 2010, nous revient avec un nouveau spectacle hybride.
"Special Effect" est un projet inspiré du film "Stalker" de Tarkovsky et du concept de "la Zone". Présenté comme une communication live avec le futur au moyen "d’effets spéciaux" et d’un ingénieux décor interactif, le show intègre 18 courts métrages d’animation underground, réalisés spécialement pour ce spectacle par James Duesing, Amy Lockhart, Yoshi Sodeoka, Billy Grant, Michael Bell-Smith, Ola Vasiljeva, Jacob Ciocci, Andrew Benson, Jeff Kriksciun, Chad VanGaalen, Philippe Blanchard, E*Rock, Luke Painter, Brandon Blommaert, Stu Hughes, Devin Flynn, Michael Robinson, Sabrina Ratté, Ben Coonley et Brenna Murphy.

http://specialeffect.peterburr.org/

27.04 > 20:00
6€ / 5€


La Microboutiek, madame, est un point de diffusion de livres, CD, fanzines, DVD, K7 et autres objets de micro-édition. Vous pouvez autant y découvrir des choses rares que venir y déposer vos créations, la Microboutiek est alimentée par son propre public. N’hésitez pas !

07.04 > 18:30 + 13.04 > 19:30 + 27.04 > 18:00



squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: fr
id_rubrique: 1780
prog: 1769
pos: aval