prog: 1176
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

Raro Italiano

*This year we present a module dedicated to the golden age of Italian genre cinema. In the 60s and 70s, Italy was the leader of parallel cinema, a pangea of genres like Péplum, the spaghetti Western, the polar, sex comdeies, etc... This was the period in which directors like Mario Bava, Vittorio Storaro, Umberto Lenzi, Lucio Fulci and Dario Argento became known. The ’cinema from across the alps’ created a unique style, inspired by American films, but with a European touch, a literary tradition and a surprising freedom in its tone. The music, made by composers like Ennio Morricone, also helped to attract an international audience.

This module focuses on the "Giallo": a kind of violent thriller made up of convoluted plots and fascinated with phenomena like alienation, paranoia and para-psychosis. Add a dash of nudity and film with excess. The term "Giallo", Italian for ’yellow’, refers to the jacket color of a literary series published by Mondadori. Instead of presenting the usual well-known titles, we’ve opted for the more bizarre and forgotten films, those that have rarely or never been screened outside of their country of origin, in their original 35mm format and in the condition we could find...

We’ll also pay a small tribute to the "poliziottescho", brutal and dry stylized police films full of nihilistic violence as a criticism against organized crime and the political climate of the time. We’ll screen "Milano Calibro 9" by Fernando di Leo. The screening will be followed by a concert with Calibro 35, an Italian band that covers and re-interprets the frenzied music of these films. We’ll also pay homage to the "Fumetti neri", a series of comics like the famous Diabolik and Kriminal. Cinema and comics have mutually trained one another to push the frontiers of graphic horror and explicit respresentations of sex, resulting in zombie films, cannibal films and "Naziploitation". Corrado Farina will come in person to present "Baba Yaga", a genre film from 1973 co-written by Guido Crepax, a cult Fumetti author.

Genre cinema began to decline in the 1980s, unable to compete with the enormous budgets of American blockbusters that depicted the same topics and themes traditionally reserved for B-movies. More recent Italian genre films attempt to recreate Hollywood films but without the budget, resulting in some ridiculous and hilarious films like "The New Barbarians", competition for "Mad Max". The remakes are sometimes just plain embarassing and boring (the list is long...), but the cinematic adventure is worth the detour and is bound to surprise if not for its excess, than for its subversive nature that continues to influence filmmakers today.*



Il profumo della signora in nero

The Perfume of the Lady in Black

Francesco Barilli, 1974, IT, 35mm, ov st ang, 100'

A fragile young woman in a loveless relationship resigns herself to complete submission. When her partner becomes interested in the voodoo practices of their African friends, an inhuman conspiracy seems to tighten around her like a vice. The story starts like an Italian version of "Rosemary’s Baby" but quickly finds a unique voice to gradually take us into a hallucinatory nightmare. We go back in time with Mimsy Farmer to an obscure and intimate past full of sweaty men and repressed feelings of guilt, taking in a grotesque and shocking final scene to make us doubt everything that happened before. The narration is intriguing and enigmatic, full of moments that are difficult to grasp. The film is also worth seeing for its visuals. Director Francesco Barilli has a remarkable use of color, presenting everything on a backdrop like a painting. The superb pictorial images recall the master Mario Bava.

12.03 > 22:00


Fernando Di Leo, 1972, IT, video, ov st ang, 97'

The pulsating sound of jazz-funk pumps in the background as we find ourselves in the company of sleazy Milanese gangsters, all nervous about the bundles of large bills they lost in an unsuccessful transaction. Gastone Moschin is fresh out of prison when he’s picked up in a car and brutally beaten by Mario Adorf and his bunch, the latter persuaded that the former knows more than he lets on. This film is ahead of the league when it comes to the 70s wave of (brutal) Italian whodunit films: An extremely violent look at the underworld, filmed by Fernando di Leo in the style of Jean-Pierre Melville and under the influence of various forbidden hormones. The film touts extraordinary characters, a naked night-club dance scene with Barbara Bouchet, and Mario Adorf in a maniacal revved-up delirium stealing the show from the stoic Moschin.

13.03 > 20:00


Tommaso Colliva discovered Italian ’60s and ’70s soundtracks while digging through dusty crates of vinyl in search of obscure samples. From that moment on, those electrifying tracks were the main inspiration for a jam band which he formed in 2007. With Massimo Martellotta on guitars and lapsteels, Enrico Gabrielli on keyboards and brass, Fabio Rondanini on drums and Luca Nano Cavina on bass, Calibro 35 is a killer combo, combining classic and obscure theme songs with contemporary elements, all while remaining true to the originals. Visuals and outtakes of those beloved exploitation film titles will accompany the performance. After the concert, the vibe will continue in the Nova bar with Tommaso Colliva behind the turntables and Belgian-based yet Italian-minded DJ The Lounge Bastard at his side.

13.03 > 22:00


Le Orme

Footprints on the Moon

Luigi Bazzoni, 1975, IT, 35mn, ov st ang, 96'

A young woman wakes up with a start one morning after having dreamed of a cosmonaut abandoned on the moon. She suddenly that she’s just lost three days of her life. Florinda Bolkan, known for her performance in "A Lizard In A Woman’s Skin" by Lucio Fulci, amongst others, subtly portrays a desperate woman whose existence is slowly fading. Elements of science-fiction were introduced to this multi-faceted story, generating a nightmarish atmosphere, reinforced by Nicola Piovanni’s melancholic music and images worked by Vittorio Storaro, who bathes the incredible sets in an extra-terrestrial luminescence. Watch out for Klaus Kinski in the most brief but gripping cameo of his career. All of these elements compete to make this atypical and unreal giallo one of the most enigmatic films ever created. Nearly impossible to find, it’s THE film you should discover at the festival.

14.03 > 22:00


Lo strano vizio della Signora Wardh

The Strange Vice of Mrs. Wardh

Sergio Martino, 1971, IT, 35mm, vt ang , 94'

The ravishing Queen of Giallo, Edwige Fenech, plays the role of Madame Wardh, the wife of an anal-retentive diplomat chased by her memories of a sado-masochistic relationship with the dangerous Jean. She meets the seductive Georges at a decadent, high-society soirée and immediately falls in love. Meanwhile, an unknown murderer is terrorizing the town, unleashing his wrath against all beautiful women. Sergio Martino, like Dario Argento, had a great influence on the giallo trend of the early 70s. This film contains all the typical elements of the genre: beautiful adultresses from the social elite, strong and weak men, the most gaudy fashion statements of the seventies and incredible interior design. These stylized compositions are filmed in cinemascope and accompanied by a fantastic soundtrack. The desperately complicated storyline focuses primarily on debauchery and on the incisive razor blade of the mysterious murderer, dressed in black and wearing leather gloves.

19.03 > 22:00


Corrado Farina, 1973, IT, 35mm, ov st ang, 91'

Valentina is a young photographer living in a trendy Milanese circle of artists. During her regular stroll one evening she meets a strange woman who asks to be called "Baba Yaga". Valentine starts to have bizarre visions after their encounter, and her camera seems bestowed with mysterious powers. Valentine hesitates between her love for Arno, a modest director, and "Baba Yaga", mistress of the erotic dream world. "Baba Yaga" is the cinematographic adaptation of a ’fumetti’ comic strip from the famous Valentina series by the screenwriter Guido Crepax. Isabelle De Funes (niece of…) embodies the graceful Valentina while "Baba Yaga" is interpreted by Caroll Baker, the actress who offered us "Baby Doll". Carefully selected images, stylized artistic direction and a groovy soundtrack make "Baba Yaga" an erotic-psychedelic jewel.

Director Corrado Farina will present the film in person.

15.03 > 20:00


Cosa avete fatto a Solange?

What Have They Done to Solange?

Massimo Dallamano, 1972, IT, 35mn, ov ang , 103'

Fabio Testi is the gym teacher at a Catholic school for girls in London. During an amorous escapade with one of his students, she suddenly freezes, claiming to have seen a murderer from the corner of her eye. He later learns from the media that the young student’s corpse has been recovered. Curious, he visits the site and immediately becomes a police suspect. Other victims follow, brutally assassinated by way of repeated knife stabs to the vagina. All of them were students in the same Catholic school. An elegant giallo by Massimo Dallamno based on the story by Edgar Wallace. Despite the themes of exploitation, this film is a class beyond the genre. Beautiful, obscure images by –surprise!- the master of debauchery Joe d’Amato. Ennio Morricone provides an excellent soundtrack that takes us from searing female screams to gentle piano melodies, passing through atonal lines.

15.03 > 22:00


Macchie Solari

Autopsy

Armando Crispino, 1975, IT, 35mm, ov st fr & nl, 100'

Mimsy Farmer plays a young PhD student in medicine, obsessed by her thesis work on a wave of suicides and prone to hallucinations about bodies awakening at the morgue. She begins an investigation of her recently deceased, sex-hungry father, and tries to come to terms with her own sexual repression and frustration. She’s also quickly torn between two opposite men: one who seeks good, the other who seeks to hurt her. Who will it be…
Armando Crispino gives us a jarring giallo rife with terrifying scenes and camera effects. In the spirit of the times, the 1970s, eroticism and psychoanalysis are extremely present and lead to a series of original and unhealthy situations, lending a unique tone to the film. For those who are curious, it’s probably also the film in which Ennio Morricone’s music is the least remarkable…

14.03 > 24:00


squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: en
id_rubrique: 1182
prog: 1176
pos: aval

prog: 1176
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

Raro Italiano

Cette année, nous vous proposons un module consacré à l’âge d’or du cinéma de genre italien. Dans les années 60 et 70, ce pays était la figure de proue d’un cinéma parallèle, s’illustrant dans des genres tels que le Péplum, le Western spaghetti, le polar, les comédies sexy, etc. C’est durant cette période que des réalisateurs comme Mario Bava, Vittorio Storaro, Umberto Lenzi, Lucio Fulci et Dario Argento se sont fait connaitre. Le cinéma transalpin réussit alors à créer un style unique, s’inspirant des films de genre américains, accompagnés d’une touche européenne, d’une tradition littéraire et d’une liberté de ton étonnante. La musique a contribué à donner une audience internationale à ces films grâce à des compositeurs comme Ennio Morricone.
Dans ce module, nous nous sommes concentré sur le "Giallo", un genre de thriller violent composé d’intrigues alambiquées, avec une fascination pour les phénomènes d’aliénations, les paranoïas et autres psychoses. Comprenant également de fréquentes scènes de nudité, le tout est filmé avec outrance. Le terme "Giallo", signifiant jaune, rappelle la couleur de couverture de la collection littéraire publiée par Mondadori. Ne voulant pas présenter les titres les plus connus, nous nous sommes penchés sur des films plus étranges, oubliés, rarement ou même jamais montrés en dehors de leur pays d’origine, dans leur format 35mm original et dans l’état dans lequel nous avons pu les trouver...
Nous rendrons un petit hommage au "poliziottescho", film policier au style très sec et brutal, à la violence nihiliste et qui entend critiquer le crime organisé et le climat politique de l’époque. Nous projetterons "Milano Calibro 9" de Fernando di Leo. La séance sera suivie d’un concert de Calibro 35, groupe italien qui réinterprète les musiques délirantes de ces films.
Hommage aussi au "Fumetti neri", séries de bandes dessinées dont les plus célèbres sont Diabolik et Kriminal. Le cinéma et la BD se sont mutuellement entrainés à franchir les frontières de l’horreur graphique et de la représentation sexuelle explicite, aboutissant aux films de zombies, de cannibales et à la "Naziploitaion". Corrado Farina viendra en personne nous présenter "Baba Yaga", un film de genre de 1973 co-écrit par Guido Crepax, auteur culte de Fumetti.
Le déclin du cinéma de genre fut rapide dès les années 1980, face aux blockbusters américains utilisant alors d’énormes moyens sur des sujets traditionnellement de Série B. Les films de genre italiens de notre époque tentent, sans argent, de refaire les films d’Hollywood, aboutissant à des résultats ridicules mais hilarants comme dans "The New Barbarians", qui lorgne du côté de "Mad Max". Les remakes sont parfois simplement pénibles et ennuyeux (la liste est longue...), mais l’aventure de ce cinéma vaut le détour et étonne encore par ses outrances et son côté subversif qui influencent encore les cinéastes d’aujourd’hui.



Il profumo della signora in nero

The Perfume of the Lady in Black

Francesco Barilli, 1974, 35mm, vo st ang, 100'

Une frêle jeune femme se résigne à la soumission dans une relation sans amour. Lorsque son compagnon commence à s’intéresser aux pratiques vaudou de leurs amis Africains, un complot inhumain semble se resserrer sur elle comme un étau. Alors que l’histoire commence comme une version italienne de "Rosemary’s Baby", elle se teinte vite d’un esprit unique, au fur et à mesure qu’elle nous emporte dans un cauchemar hallucinant. On tombe, avec Mimsy Farmer, dans un passé obscur et personnel, plein d’hommes transpirants et de sentiments de culpabilité non assumés, pour s’en prendre plein la vue lors de la scène finale, grotesque et choquante, qui remet en question tout ce qui précède. La narration est intrigante et énigmatique et comprend plein de moments insaisissables. Visuellement, le film en vaut aussi la peine. Le réalisateur Francesco Barilli présente son arrière-fond comme une peinture, grâce à la remarquable utilisation des couleurs. Les superbes images picturales rappellent le maître Mario Bava.

12.03 > 22:00


Fernando Di Leo, 1972, video, vo st ang, 97'

C’est sur fond de jazzfunk pompant et choquant que, dans le milieu louche milanais, des gangsters nerveux perdent quelques grosses liasses de billets au cours d’une transaction ratée. A sa sortie de prison, Gastone Moschin est immédiatement traîné dans une voiture, largué dans une casse pour y être brutalement frappé par Mario Adorf et sa racaille, persuadés qu’il en sait plus qu’il ne le prétend. Un film-phare de la vague des (très durs) polars italiens des années septante ; un regard extrêmement brutal sur la pègre, filmé par Fernando di Leo à la manière d’un Jean-Pierre Melville sous l’emprise d’un mélange d’hormones interdites. Des personnages extraordinaires, une danse dénudée de Barbara Bouchet dans une boîte et un Mario Adorf maniaque et rentre-dedans, volant ainsi la vedette au stoïque Moschin.

13.03 > 20:00


En fouinant dans de vieux vinyles à la recherche d’obscures samples, Tommaso Colliva découvrit des bandes sonores italiennes des années ’60 et ’70. Ces séduisants morceaux électrisants de films d’exploitation n’ont jamais été égalés. En 2007, il forma un groupe de jam avec Massimo Martellotta à la guitare lapsteel, Enrico Gabrielli au clavier et cuivres, Fabio Rondanini aux percussions et Luca Nano Cavina à la basse. Calibro 35 est un "killer combo" de Milan qui combine des éléments contemporains et des thèmes cinématographiques classiques ou obscurs, tout en restant fidèle à la version originale. Ils interprètent également leur propre répertoire, un étrange mélange de jazz, funk, rock, classique et improvisation. En bref, tous les ingrédients des bandes sonores italiennes admirées dans le monde entier. Des visuels et des extraits de films accompagneront le concert. Nous prolongerons ensuite les vibrations au bar du Nova avec Tommaso Colliva derrière les platines, en compagnie de DJ The Lounge Bastard.

13.03 > 22:00


Le Orme

Footprints on the Moon

Luigi Bazzoni, 1975, 35mn, vo st ang, 96'

Une jeune femme se réveille un matin en sursaut après un rêve bizarre dans lequel un cosmonaute est abandonné sur la lune. Elle réalise ensuite qu’elle vient de perdre trois jours de sa vie. Florinda Bolkan, connue entre autres pour avoir joué dans "A Lizard In A Woman’s Skin" de Lucio Fulci, campe subtilement une femme désespérée dont l’existence lui échappe lentement. L’introduction d’éléments de science-fiction dans cette histoire aux multiples strates génère une atmosphère cauchemardesque, renforcée par la lugubre musique de Nicola Piovanni et le travail à l’image de Vittorio Storaro qui fait baigner les sublimes décors dans une lumière extra-terrestre. Soyez également attentif à Klaus Kinski - dans le plus bref mais combien saisissant ’cameo’ de sa carrière. Tous ces éléments concourent à faire de ce giallo atypique, irréel, l’un des films les plus énigmatiques jamais réalisés. Quasiment introuvable, c’est LA découverte à faire au festival.

14.03 > 22:00


Lo strano vizio della Signora Wardh

The Strange Vice of Mrs. Wardh

Sergio Martino, 1971, 35mm, vt ang , 94'

La ravissante reine du giallo Edwige Fenech joue le rôle de Madame Wardh, mariée à un diplomate coincé et poursuivie par les souvenirs de sa relation sadomasochiste avec le dangereux Jean. Lors d’une fête décadente de la haute société, elle rencontre Georges, un charmeur dont elle tombe vite amoureuse. Entretemps, un meurtrier inconnu qui en veut aux belles femmes défraye la chronique de la ville. Sergio Martino, comme Dario Argento, a exercé une grande influence sur le courant du giallo du début des années 70. On retrouve ici les éléments typiques du genre : de superbes femmes adultères dans la haute société, des hommes forts et faibles, les tendances "mode seventies" les plus voyantes et des décorations d’intérieur incroyables. Les compositions stylées sont filmées en cinémascope et accompagnées d’une bande-son formidable. L’intrigue désespérément compliquée tourne autour de la débauche et du rasoir incisif du meurtrier mystérieux, habillé en noir avec des gants en cuir.

19.03 > 22:00


Corrado Farina, 1973, 35mm, vo st ang, 91'

Valentina est une jeune photographe, vivant dans le milieu artistique branché de Milan. Un soir, au cours d’une promenade nocturne, elle fait la connaissance d’une femme étrange qui se fait appeler "Baba Yaga". Suite à leur rencontre, Valentina commence à avoir des visions bizarres. Et son appareil photo, de mystérieux pouvoirs. Valentina hésite entre son amour pour Arno, un modeste réalisateur et "Baba Yaga", maîtresse d’un royaume de rêves et d’érotisme. "Baba Yaga" est l’adaptation cinématographique d’une bande dessinée ’fumetti’, de la célèbre série Valentina du scénariste Guido Crepax. Isabelle De Funes (nièce de...) incarne la gracieuse Valentina tandis que "Baba Yaga" est interprétée par Caroll Baker, l’actrice qui nous offrit "Baby Doll". Une image soignée, une direction artistique stylée et une bande sonore groovy font de "Baba Yaga" une petite perle érotico-psychédélique.

Le réalisateur Corrado Farina viendra en personne présenter son film.

15.03 > 20:00


Cosa avete fatto a Solange ?

What Have They Done to Solange ?

Massimo Dallamano, 1972, 35mn, vo ang , 103'

Fabio Testi est prof de gym dans une école catholique pour filles, à Londres. Lors d’une escapade amoureuse avec une de ses élèves, celle-ci s’immobilise soudain, ayant cru voir un meurtre du coin de l’oeil. Plus tard, il apprend par les médias que le corps d’une jeune femme a été retrouvé. Curieux, il se rend sur les lieux et devient ainsi immédiatement suspect auprès de la police. D’autres victimes suivent, assassinées de manière lugubre avec de profonds coups de couteaux dans le vagin. Toutes sont des élèves de cette même école catholique. Un giallo élégant de Massimo Dallamano basé sur une histoire forte signée Edgar Wallace. Malgré les thèmes d’exploitation, il s’agit d’une oeuvre d’une classe qu’on ne retrouve pas souvent dans le genre. Les belles images, à peine lumineuses, sont - chose surprenante - soignées par le maestro débauché Joe d’Amato. La bande-son d’Ennio Morricone est excellente, elle nous mène de voix de femmes cassantes en mélodies légères de piano en passant par des lignes atonales.

15.03 > 22:00


Macchie Solari

Autopsy

Armando Crispino, 1975, 35mm, vo st fr & nl, 100'

Mimsy Farmer interprète une jeune doctorante en médecine, obsédée par sa thèse portant sur une vague de suicides. Elle est victime d’hallucinations dans lesquelles les corps se réveillent à la morgue. Elle mène une enquête sur son père, un ’chaud lapin’ récemment décédé, et cherche à assumer ses blocages et frustrations sexuels. Par ailleurs, elle est vite tiraillée entre deux hommes dont l’un lui veut du bien et l’autre du mal. Reste à savoir lequel...
Armando Crispino propose un Giallo décalé où abondent les scènes terrifiantes et les effets de caméra. Années 1970 obligent, l’aspect érotico-psychanalytique est très poussé et amène une série de situations originales et malsaines, donnant au film son ton particulier. Pour les curieux, c’est peut-être aussi le film dans lequel la musique d’Ennio Morricone est la moins remarquable...

14.03 > 24:00


squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: fr
id_rubrique: 1182
prog: 1176
pos: aval