prog: 1176
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

Ozploitation

*The Australian film industry needed time to really take off after having employed exiled directors (like the great Michael Powell) for many years. But at the end of the sixties, uninhibited filmmakers threw themselves into exploitation films, producing locally and basing their films on sex, car chases and unbelievable stunts. Today the genre is popular once again thanks to films like "Wolf Creek" and "Rogue". The documentary "Not Quite Hollywood" retraces this history and is your road map to the Ozploitation module. We’ve brought in several copies of Australian films that have rarely (in some cases never) been screened in Europe! There’s not only the genre’s unmissable first opus "Mad Max", but also a "Long Weekend" you can take with Colin Eggleston.
The majority of the films in this module are courtesy of Brian Trenchard-Smith, who will also be our guest. This prolific director -he brought us "Turkey Shoot" and the comedic "BMX Bandits" with Nicole Kidman- will present three of his masterpieces: an Australian kung-fu film ("The Man from Hong Kong") featuring George Lazenby fresh from his stint as James Bond, a shamelessly 80s social apocalypse film ("Dead-End Drive-In"), and a seminal UFO docu-fiction about rock, magic and stunts ("Stunt Rock")! If you imagine Australia to be a strange and wonderful country, now’s your chance to come have your beliefs confirmed.*



Mark Hartley, 2008, AU-US, 35mm, ov , 103'

"Not Quite Hollywood" is a rapid, rhythmic panorama of Australian exploitation film. The film will help orient you through the next few days of Ozploitation... consider it a luxury trailer. It features excerpts from many other films, making it the ideal complement to our program. Perhaps you’ll even end up questioning our selection! Directors, producers, actors, and stunt people from the genre share their views on this unique period in Australian cinema. Brian Trenchard-Smith, George Miller, Jamie Lee Curtis, George Lazenby and Quentin Tarantino appear in the film, amongst others, and are all excited to talk about the pearls of the genre: sexploitation, grotesque comedy, horror, biker movie, thriller, post-apocalyptic... anything goes!

Mark Hartley will introduce the film which will be followed by a Q&A in the bar together with our other Australian guests: Brian Trenchard-Smith and Richard Brennan, producer of "Long Weekend".

19.03 > 20:00


Brian Trenchard-Smith, 1978, AU, 35mm, ov , 86'

This is definitely the craziest film in the program! "Stunt Rock" is as rare as they get. The copy you’ll see is fresh off the press and will be baptized on Nova’s screen. The film itself could be described as documentary fiction about outer space with a focus on hard rock, magic, kitsch and the stuntman Grant Page. Add to this an unexpected appearance by Monique Van de Ven, and you can understand why it’s hard to describe...
Brian Trenchard-Smith recycles stock images from his other films (and from the films of others, like "Mad Dog Morgan"), to construct a vague storyline that interconnects concert footage from the band Sorcery with the life of the musician-magicians on tour and the story of stuntman courting a journalist, all this with plenty of stunts and magic tricks from another era. The whole thing is compartmentalized in split screens, sometimes defying all logic. The film is like "Spinal Tap" ten years in advance and in the first person! Although... the true spirit of the film is difficult to put into words. One thing is for sure: you’ll be in the presence of an extreme form of exploitation cinema, one of the most hilarious ever!

Brian Trenchard-Smith will be attending the screening

http://www.sorcerymusic.com

20.03 > 22:00


Brian Trenchard-Smith, 1975, AU, 35mm, ov , 111'

If Australians are the kings of stunts, they certainly aren’t the kings of martial arts. Which is why a Hong Kong detective and a wicked Englishman (George Lazenby) were called upon for this unique film... We find ourselves face to face with the former James Bond, the capricious star of the film and Man from Hong Kong, Jimmy Wang Yu, the obligatory Hugh Keays-Byrne ("Mad Max", "Stone", etc), a passionate young Australian actress from Deltaplane (sic) and Grant Page ("Stunt Rock", "Mad Dog Morgan"…), all in top form for an anthology of chases.. In many ways, "The Man from Hong Kong" is also a film for tourists, since it begins with a muscled arrest at the base and then on the summit of Ayers Rock. A detective and martial arts film combo, a comedy of international mores, it’s difficult to describe the film. All we can do is give kudos to Brian Trenchard-Smith once again for his ability to create UFOs in every style.
Need we add that the film’s arrival to a European screen is a big event, one that will provide a humorous close to our Ozploitation module?

Brian Trenchard-Smith will be attending the screening

20.03 > 24:00


George Miller, 1979, AU, 35mm, ov st fr, 93'

Mad Max is featured in this second edition of Offscreen because it’s a film that brilliantly represents both the Post-Apocalyptic and Ozploitation modules. This is your chance to watch a shiny new copy this classic genre film, in cinemascope and subtitled in French.
When compared to other Australian productions, it’s easy to see how this film had grand ambitions, and why it was a visual and narrative success. Fabulous chase sequences and stunts: the results of an undeniable native savoir-faire epitomized by "Mad Max". The film’s post-apocalyptic atmosphere has hues of social dereliction, with a true sense of disorientation provided by a huge landscape of endless roads. The story behind the apocalypse is explained in the Road Warrior adventure series, which is also where the fuel myth, the holy grail of the future, reaches its true dimensions.
George Miller proves from this first film onward that medicine is not his only field of expertise, and through a variety of formal discoveries (street level perspective shots, accelerated images, use of music, delayed narration, references to the genre, etc...) he announces the atypical and eclectic nature of his future career.

21.03 > 20:00


Colin Eggleston, 1978, AU, 35mm, ov , 92'

A middle-class Australian couple decides to spend the weekend on the coast "finding themselves". Although their taste and opinions differ, we realize that their personalities and individualistic attitudes once made them close. She prefers the hotel, he prefers camping. The conflict literally infects their weekend, and the situation worsens when they get lost in a nature that proves to be very hostile. Unless, of course, it’s just nature reflecting their own hostility.
The originality of this resolutely 70s-era film lies in the fact that nature and horror are not combined to critique the return to enchanted earth, as was the case in the American redneck films a few years prior. Here the characters are deeply unappealing and represent the Western lifestyle in a joyfully cynical manner. The quality of the direction and cinematography, both very classy, gives this story a strange and disturbing charm. Hollywood just got wind of it and plans to remake the film scene for scene… with Grant Page as the stuntman!

Producer Richard Brennan will introduce the film

21.03 > 22:00


Brian Trenchard-Smith, 1986, AU, 35mm, ov , 92'

Like the United States, Australia is ruled by the car, the loyal friend of people who inhabit large spaces. So it’s no surprise that drive-ins also had their hour of glory here, particularly as a hang out for bored teenagers. The VHS market of the 80s dealt a fatal blow to these places, and they rapidly became anachronistic. The post-apocalyptic genre of exploitation film isn’t applicable, and "Clockwork Orange" with its violent, misguided teens is also elsewhere. So what’s the connection? The director finds one using the story of a young white trash couple preoccupied by cars and blondes. The two are brought to a pitiful drive-in run by a gang of mean dudes (is that what they were called back then?). The evening goes sour when the young couple realizes that they won’t ever be able to escape what is now a detention camp for teenagers without a future. They’re condemned to watch a never-ending cycle of movies by... Brian Trenchard-Smith.

Brian Trenchard-Smith will be attending the screening

21.03 > 24:00


squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: en
id_rubrique: 1183
prog: 1176
pos: aval

prog: 1176
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

Ozploitation

L’industrie du cinéma australien à mis du temps à se mettre en route et a longtemps employé des réalisateurs exilés (comme le grand Michael Powell). Mais dès la fin des années soixante, des cinéastes débridés se sont lancés à corps perdu dans un cinéma d’exploitation local et azimuté à base de sexe, de poursuites de voitures et de cascades improbables. Le genre est aujourd’hui de nouveau à l’honneur avec l’apparition de films comme "Wolf Creek" ou "Rogue". C’est cette histoire que retrace le documentaire "Not Quite Hollywood" qui vous servira de carte routière pour ce module consacré à l’Ozploitation. Nous avons fait venir d’Australie plusieurs copies de films rarement (voire jamais) projetés en Europe ! Outre l’incontournable premier opus de "Mad Max", réussite majeure du genre, il sera hautement recommandé de passer un "Long Weekend" concocté par Colin Eggleston.
La partie la plus importante de ce module sera consacrée à Brian Trenchard-Smith qui sera notre invité. Ce réalisateur prolifique à qui l’on doit entre autre "Turkey Shoot" et l’inénarrable "BMX Bandits" avec Nicole Kidman, viendra présenter trois de ses films les plus emblématiques : un film de kung-fu australien ("The Man from Hong Kong"), auquel participe l’improbable George Lazenby fraichement délivré de James Bond, un film d’apocalypse sociale à l’atmosphère 80’s éhontée ("Dead-End Drive In") et un ovni majuscule, "Stunt Rock", docu-fiction sur le rock, la magie et la cascade ! Si vous imaginez l’Australie comme un pays bien étrange, c’est le moment de venir conforter vos a priori.



Mark Hartley, 2008, 35mm, vo , 103'

"Not Quite Hollywood" propose un tour d’horizon rapide et rythmé de ce qu’a pu être le cinéma d’exploitation australien. Le film permet de s’orienter dans le module Ozploitation que l’on vous propose les jours suivants, une sorte de bande-annonce de luxe. C’est aussi un complément à cette sélection puisque vous pourrez découvrir des extraits de bien d’autres films et peut-être même remettre en cause notre choix ! Les réalisateurs, producteurs, acteurs, cascadeurs, des films sont invités à s’exprimer sur cette période décalée de l’histoire du cinéma australien. On retrouve entre autres Brian Trenchard-Smith, George Miller, Jamie Lee Curtis, George Lazenby et un Quentin Tarantino survolté à l’idée d’évoquer ces perles en tout genre : sexploitation, comédies grotesques, horreur, biker movie, thriller, post-apocalyptique... tout y passe !

Mark Hartley sera présent lors de la projection, qui sera suivie d’une rencontre dans le bar, avec nos autres invités du week-end Ozploitation : Brian Trenchard-Smith et Richard Brennan, producteur de "Long Weekend".

19.03 > 20:00


Brian Trenchard-Smith, 1978, 35mm, vo , 86'

Ne cherchez pas plus loin le film le plus hallucinant de la programmation ! "Stunt Rock" est une rareté à tous les points de vue. La copie que vous allez voir est fraîchement retirée et sera baptisée sur l’écran du Nova. Le film en lui-même pourrait être décrit comme un docu-fiction de l’espace ayant pour thème le hard rock, la magie, le kitsch et le cascadeur Grant Page. Si on ajoute à cela la présence inattendue de Monique Van de Ven, on comprendra que le texte de présentation n’est pas facile à rédiger...
Recyclant des stockshots de ses autres films (voire de ceux des autres, comme "Mad Dog Morgan"), Brian Trenchard-Smith construit vaguement une trame pour relier les scènes de concert du groupe Sorcery], la vie des musiciens-magiciens en tournée, l’histoire d’une journaliste courtisée par un cascadeur, tout ça plein de cascades et de tours de magie d’un autre âge. L’ensemble est compartimenté en split screens défiant parfois toute logique. Le film est une sorte de "Spinal Tap" en avance de dix ans et au premier degré ! Quoique... L’esprit du film et réellement difficile à cerner et laisse sans voix. Une chose est sûre : on est là en présence d’une forme extrême de cinéma d’exploitation, parmi les plus hilarantes qui soit !

En présence de Brian Trenchard-Smith

http://www.sorcerymusic.com

20.03 > 22:00


Brian Trenchard-Smith, 1975, 35mm, vo , 111'

Si les australiens sont les rois de la cascade, ils ne le sont pas en arts martiaux. C’est pourquoi sont ici convoqués un policier de Hong kong et un anglais malfaisant (George Lazenby) pour un film délirant au rythme très personnel... On retrouve en face de l’ancien James Bond, l’homme d’Hong Kong, Jimmy Wang Yu, star capricieuse du film, l’obligatoire Hugh Keays-Byrne ("Mad Max", "Stone", etc), une jeune australienne férue de Deltaplane (sic) et un Grant Page ("Stunt Rock", "Mad Dog Morgan"...) en grande forme dans une scène de poursuite anthologique. A plein d’égards, "The Man from Honk Kong" est aussi un film touristique puisqu’il débute par une arrestation musclée aux abords, puis au sommet, de l’Ayers Rock.
Mélange de film policier et d’arts martiaux, comédie de moeurs internationales, la description n’est pas aisée et on doit reconnaître à Brian Trenchard-Smith, une fois de plus, la capacité à réaliser des ovnis dans tous les styles.
Inutile d’ajouter que la venue de la copie sur un écran européen est un événement qui clôturera avec humour notre module Ozploitation.

En présence de Brian Trenchard-Smith

20.03 > 24:00


George Miller, 1979, 35mm, vo st fr, 93'

Mad Max est au centre de cette seconde édition d’Offscreen puisqu’il vient illustrer brillamment à la fois le module Post-Apocalyptique et celui consacré à l’Ozploitation. Ce sera l’occasion de voir ce classique du film de genre en cinémascope dans une belle copie neuve sous-titrée en français.
Comparé à d’autres productions australiennes, on remarquera à quel point le film est une réussite visuelle et narrative et se démarque par son ambition. Les fabuleuses poursuites et cascades sont l’aboutissement d’un savoir-faire autochtone indéniable dont "Mad Max" propose la quintessence. Son atmosphère post-apocalyptique est teintée de déréliction sociale, et la perte de repères prend tout son sens dans cet espace immense parcouru par des routes sans fin. C’est majoritairement dans la suite des aventures du Road Warrior que les raisons de cette apocalypse seront expliquées et que le mythe de l’essence, ce Graal du futur, prendra sa véritable dimension.
George Miller prouve dès ce premier film que la médecine n’est pas son seul champ de pertinence et par de nombreuses trouvailles formelles (caméra embarquée au ras de la route, images accélérées, utilisation de la musique, narration décalée, emprunts au genre, etc) annonce sa future carrière atypique et éclectique.

21.03 > 20:00


Colin Eggleston, 1978, 35mm, vo , 92'

Un couple australien de classe moyenne décide d’aller passer un weekend sur la côte afin de se retrouver. Si leurs goûts et points de vue sont très différents, on se rend compte que ce sont leurs caractères et attitudes individualistes qui ont pu un jour les rapprocher. Elle préfère l’hôtel, lui le camping. Ce conflit pourri littéralement leur weekend d’autant plus vite qu’ils se perdent dans la nature qui s’avère hostile, très hostile. À moins que celle-ci ne fasse que répondre à leur propre hostilité.
La grande originalité de ce film résolument ’70 c’est que nature et horreur ne sont pas ici combinés pour critiquer un retour à la terre enchanteur comme c’était le cas dans les films Rednecks américains quelques années plus tôt. Les personnages profondément odieux représentent l’Homme occidental de façon joyeusement cynique. La qualité de la mise en scène et de la photographie, toutes deux très classes, confèrent à cette histoire un charme étrange et malsain. Hollywood s’en est aperçu et vient de délivrer un remake plan par plan... avec Grant Page comme cascadeur !

En présence de Richard Brennan, producteur du film

21.03 > 22:00


Brian Trenchard-Smith, 1986, 35mm, vo , 92'

Au même titre que les États-Unis, l’Australie est le royaume de l’automobile, amie fidèle de l’habitant des grands espaces. Pas étonnant donc que le drive in y ait connu des heures de gloire, notamment comme lieu de rencontre obligé pour ados désœuvrés. Le marché des VHS dans les années ’80 porte un coup fatal à ces lieux devenus rapidement anachroniques. Les films exploitant le genre post-apocalyptique ne sont plus légions. "Clockwork Orange" et ses ados violents et sans repères sont loin. Quel rapport ? Le réalisateur en propose un et c’est son droit, à travers l’histoire d’un jeune White Thrash dont les occupations principales sont peuplées de bagnoles et de blondasses. Il décide d’exposer l’un et l’autre dans un drive in miteux fréquenté par des bandes de loubards (on disait comme ça à l’époque, non ?). La soirée tourne court quand le jeune couple comprend qu’il ne peut plus sortir de ce qui est maintenant un camp de détention pour jeunes sans avenir. Il sont condamnés à voir en boucle sur l’écran des films de... Brian Trenchard-Smith.

En présence de Brian Trenchard-Smith

21.03 > 24:00


squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: fr
id_rubrique: 1183
prog: 1176
pos: aval