prog: 1176
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

First (off)screenings

Every year we try to track down those never-before-seen films that, for some reason, are unavailable through the classic distribution networks: Films that unapologetically deal with difficult subjects or are daringly experimental, bizarre and disconcerting in their form or content. This year we have six features to present to you, sometimes paired with a short film, a small surprise before the main feature.



Michel Gondry, Leos Carax & Bong Joon-ho, 2008, FR-JP, 35mn, ov st fr & nl, 107'

"Tokyo!" is a collective film that offers three inspired visions of one of the world’s most imagination-stimulating cities. In the first part, "Interior Design" by Michel Gondry ("Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind"), a young couple arrives in Tokyo and tries to make a life there. Ayako scours the city in search of her dream apartment while her boyfriend works as a store packer. As she starts to realize that things won’t turn out how she planned, she feels completely useless. The second part, "Merde" by Léos Carax (his first film in ten years!), is by far the most bizarre. A scary creature that lives in the sewers beneath the city terrorizes the population with sudden appearances and absurd acts. Carax’s contribution is a hilarious ode to the monsters of this world. The film finishes on a beautiful note with "Shaking Tokyo" by Bong Joon-ho ("Memories of Murder", "The Host"): a hikikomori (a recluse, someone who never leaves the house) falls in love with the pizza delivery girl. When she quits her job, he decides to go looking for her. But an earthquake spoils everything…

05.03 > 20:00 + 07.03 > 18:00


Ronald Bronstein, 2007, US, 35mm, ov st fr, 106'

New York. Keith Sontag is an obsessive sociopath, the human incarnation of anxiety. He tries to earn a living by doing all kinds of improbable things. For him, communication is a constant struggle. He’s incapable of formulating his ideas. He tries to act "normally" to satisfy social demands but is overtaken by nervous tics, frightening his interlocutors who are hardly able to tolerate his presence.
For a hundred minutes, "Frownland" brings us face to face with a guy who, in any other situation, would make us walk on the other side of the street. It’s not an easy starting point for a film, but Ronald Bronstein establishes a certain detachment from the central character, opting for a structure that’s as unbalanced as the antagonist and using form to explore his pathological suffering. Actor Dore Mann’s presence and performance (improvised!) are so impressive, and the camera is so close, that we’re forced to feel a kind of uncomfortable empathy, a "malaise" punctuated by moments of hilarity that are sure to provoke a nervous laugh. A challenging experience, disturbing in the reactions it provokes, a film that you won’t forget!

http://www.frownlandinc.com

+ Nice Day for a Picnic

Monica Gallab, 2008, BE, video, no dial, , 4'

An animated loop that is both stunning and progressively oppressing, to help get you in the troubled mental state required for "Frownland".

07.03 > 20:00 + 08.03 > 18:00


Taika Waititi, 2007, NZ, 35mm, ov , 93'

"Eagle vs Shark" is a bizarre romantic comedy that portrays the coming together of Jarrod and Lily, two outsiders who share a dexterity in video games and a charming mole above their upper lip. The title is a direct reference to the costumes they wear, respectively, for a party organized by Jarrod (eagle) and attended by Lily (shark). Although Lily is able to seduce Jarrod in one night, he decides to leave her and return to his hometown, where he plans to avenge the humiliating moments he suffered as a teenager… A colorful little film in the spirit of John Waters and his "monstrous" characters, but with a light touch, like the animated interludes that dot this post-adolescent history. This is the first feature film by Taika Waititi, a young director who was nominated for an Oscar in 2003 for his short film "Two Cars, One Night".

+ Zachte Planten

Emma De Swaef, 2008, BE, video, no dial, , 10'

A little journey through a country full of softness. It will melt your heart!

12.03 > 20:00 + 14.03 > 18:00


Kanji Nakajima, 2008, JP, 35mm, ov st ang, 110'

When the young astronaut Kohei dies on a mission in outer space, his superiors decide to enact a part of his insurance policy and resuscitate him as a clone. Kohei 2 is identical to Kohei in every way, even down to his memories, including the painful memory of his twin brother Noboru’s premature death. When the clone awakens, his behavior is strange. He flees, follows his memories, leading him to a surprising discovery close to the site of his childhood trauma. "The Clone Returns Home" is a hypnotic film that tries to imagine what the laboratory result would be of an adult who retains the memory of a life he’s never lived. Kanji Nakajima is subtle, propelling the spectator into a transitory universe, suspended between distant dream and future precedent. And FYI, Wim Wenders is the executive producer of this Tarkovsky-hued piece of science fiction.

14.03 > 20:00 + 21.03 > 18:00


Nicolas Winding Refn, 2009, GB, 35mn, ov , 92'

"Bronson" is the biography of an exceptional, and yet very real, person who is currently serving a life sentence in the English prison system. Fifty-year-old Charles Bronson, born Michael Gordon Peterson, is also known as "the most violent prisoner of the United Kingdom." Arrested for the first time in 1974, surprisingly, he’s never been convicted of homicide. Nevertheless, he’s a specialist in wild boxing, and has repeatedly unleashed a fury of violence equaled in force only by his eccentricity. Although the film is reminiscent of "Chopper" by Andrew Dominik –a portrait of the psychopath Mark "Chopper" Read that Nova screened in 2001- "Bronson" ’s atypical form sets it apart. Director Nicolas Winding Refn ("Pusher" trilogy) seems less interested in establishing a biographical narrative than in studying Charles Bronson’s egocentric theatricality. Tom Hardy’s incredible acting talent literally embodies Bronson’s unique character, and his performance will leave you feeling anything but indifferent…

+ Skhizein

Jérémy Clapin, 2008, FR, 35mm, ov st ang, 13'

How crazy are we? We rarely have the chance to ask ourselves that question as precisely as Henry, the anti-hero of this short surrealist film, who perceives a 91cm difference in himself after an unfortunate collision with a meteorite.

20.03 > 20:00 + 22.03 > 18:00


Charlie Kaufman, 2008, US, 35mm, ov st fr & nl, 124'

Caden –a neurotic theatre director obsessed with exotic illnesses, played by Philip Seymour Hoffman- has received a prestigious grant to finally direct the play of his dreams. Working in a giant hangar, he reconstructs New York city and even his own existence. It’s difficult to describe what follows. Fiction, memories and reality intertwine and confuse us. Several years pass and both Caden and his film progressively lose touch with reality. We recognize the Charlie Kaufman (screenwriter for "Being John Malkovich", "Adaptation", and "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind") touch in this labyrinth of stories and varying realities. "Synedoche" is an indulgent debut for Kaufman’s directing talent and unique logic. The result is a unique, intriguing, mysterious and completely demented "meta-film".

+ Din Of Celestial Birds

E. Elias Merhige, 2006, US, 35mm, no dial, , 14'

Using film techniques that cross the entire spectrum of filmmaking history, the director of "Begotten" and "Shadow of the Vampire" creates an enchanting vision of the mystery of creation and the evolution of consciousness.

22.03 > 20:00


squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: en
id_rubrique: 1179
prog: 1176
pos: aval

prog: 1176
squelettes/rubrique-3.html

First (off)screenings

Chaque année, nous essayons de dénicher pour vous une sélection de films inédits qui, pour une raison ou l’autre, s’écartent des circuits de distribution classiques, prennent un parti difficile, sans concession, osent un forme ou un sujet insolite ou déroutant.
Nous avons retenu six longs métrages cette année, parfois agrémentés d’un court film étonnant à découvrir en avant-programme.



Michel Gondry, Leos Carax & Bong Joon-ho, 2008, 35mn, vo st fr & nl, 107'

"Tokyo !" est un film collectif étonnamment inspiré qui nous donne trois visions sur une des villes du monde qui parle le plus à notre imaginaire. Dans la première partie, "Interior Design" de Michel Gondry ("Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind"), un jeune couple arrive à Tokyo en espérant pouvoir y vivre. Pendant que son copain travaille comme empaqueteur dans un magasin, Ayako cherche l’appartement idéal. Lorsqu’elle se rend compte que cela ne fonctionne pas, Ayako se sent complètement inutile. La deuxième partie, "Merde" de Léos Carax (son premier film en dix ans !), est de loin la plus bizarre. Un être effrayant, qui habite dans les égouts sous la ville, terrorise la population par ses apparitions soudaines et ses actes absurdes. La partie de Carax est un ode hilarant aux monstres de ce monde. On clôt en beauté avec "Shaking Tokyo", de Bong Joon-Ho ("Memories of Murder", "The Host") : un hikikomori (quelqu’un qui ne sort jamais de chez lui), tombe amoureux de la fille qui livre sa pizza. Lorsqu’elle arrête ce boulot, il décide de partir à sa recherche. Mais un tremblement de terre gâche tout...

05.03 > 20:00 + 07.03 > 18:00


Ronald Bronstein, 2007, 35mm, vo st fr, 106'

New York. Keith Sontag - sociopathe obsessif, sorte d’incarnation humaine de l’anxiété - tente de gagner quelques sous avec toutes sortes de combines improbables. Pour lui, toute tentative de communication est une bataille. Il est incapable de formuler ses idées. Il tente d’agir "normalement" pour satisfaire ses besoins de contacts sociaux, mais s’emporte dans des tics nerveux effrayant ses interlocuteurs, à peine capables de supporter sa présence.
"Frownland" nous confronte pendant une centaine de minutes à un type qui, en temps normal, nous ferait changer de trottoir. Ce n’est déjà pas un point de départ facile pour un film, mais Ronald Bronstein prend en plus le parti de ne pas chercher à nous attacher au personnage central, adoptant une structure aussi déséquilibrée que lui et une forme explorant sa souffrance pathologique. La présence et la performance d’acteur (improvisée !) de Dore Mann sont tellement impressionnantes, la caméra tellement proche de lui, qu’on est forcé d’éprouver une sorte d’empathie inconfortable, un malaise tout de même ponctué de moments franchement drôles, qui ne manqueront pas de vous faire rire... nerveusement. Une expérience assez éprouvante, dérangeante dans les réactions qu’elle peut provoquer, un film qui marque !

http://www.frownlandinc.com

+ Nice Day for a Picnic

Monica Gallab, 2008, video, sans dial, , 4'

Une boucle animée étonnante et progressivement oppressante, histoire de troubler son mental juste assez pour affronter "Frownland".

07.03 > 20:00 + 08.03 > 18:00


Taika Waititi, 2007, 35mm, vo , 93'

"Eagle vs Shark" est une comédie romantique décalée où l’on assiste à la rencontre de Jarrod et Lily, deux marginaux qui ont en commun leur dextérité aux jeux vidéos et un charmant point de beauté au-dessus de leur lèvre supérieure. Le titre fait directement référence à leur déguisement respectif lors d’une soirée organisée par Jarrod (en aigle) à laquelle Lily s’est invitée (en requin). Mais, bien que Lily ait pu séduire Jarrod le temps d’une nuit, ce dernier la délaisse pour retourner dans son bled natal, où il projette de se venger de certaines humiliations subies pendant son adolescence... Un petit film coloré qui rappelle de loin l’esprit d’un John Waters et de ses personnages "monstrueux", mais ici avec une touche de légèreté, à l’image des interludes animés qui parsèment cette histoire post-ado. Il s’agit du premier long métrage de Taika Waititi, un jeune réalisateur qui fut nominé aux Oscars en 2003 avec son court "Two Cars, One Night".

+ Zachte Planten

Emma De Swaef, 2008, video, sans dial, , 10'

Petit voyage rêveur dans un pays tout doux. Le coup de coeur de l’année !

12.03 > 20:00 + 14.03 > 18:00


Kanji Nakajima, 2008, 35mm, vo st ang, 110'

Quand Kohei, un jeune astronaute, meurt au cours d’une mission dans l’espace, ses supérieurs appliquent son contrat d’assurance et le ressuscitent sous la forme d’un clone... Kohei 2 est censé être en tous points identique à Kohei, jusqu’à ses souvenirs, y compris celui douloureux de la mort précoce de son frère jumeau, Noboru. Cependant, au réveil, le clone se comporte étrangement. Il finit par fuir, suivant ses souvenirs qui le mèneront vers une découverte étonnante proche du lieu tragique de son enfance... Film hypnotique, "The Clone Returns Home" tente d’imaginer ce que pourrait être la réplique en laboratoire d’un adulte, qui n’aurait pas vécu sa vie mais en aurait le souvenir. Kanji Nakajima y parvient avec subtilité, propulsant le spectateur dans un univers transitoire, en suspension entre rêve éloigné et futur antérieur. Pour info, Wim Wenders est le producteur exécutif de cette science-fiction, qui ne manquera pas d’évoquer à certains quelques réminiscences tarkovskiennes...

14.03 > 20:00 + 21.03 > 18:00


Nicolas Winding Refn, 2009, 35mn, vo , 92'

"Bronson" se veut la biographie d’un personnage hors norme mais bien réel, qui purge actuellement une peine à perpétuité dans les geôles anglaises. La cinquantaine, Charles Bronson, de son vrai nom Michael Gordon Peterson, revendique d’ailleurs le titre du "prisonnier le plus violent du Royaume-Uni." Arrêté une première fois en 1974, il n’a étonnement jamais commis de meurtre, mais s’est spécialisé dans la boxe sauvage, se vantant de moultes passages à tabac dont la violence n’a d’égale que son excentricité. Bien que le film fasse penser au "Chopper" d’Andrew Dominik - ce portrait d’un autre psychopathe, l’australien Mark "Chopper" Read, qui fût montré en 2001 au Nova - "Bronson" s’en écarte par sa forme atypique. La narration biographique semble en effet moins le propos du réalisateur Nicolas Winding Refn (la trilogie "Pusher"), que l’étude de la théâtralité mégalomane de Charles Bronson. Sans oublier que ce dernier est littéralement incarné par un acteur époustouflant, Tom Hardy, dont la performance ne pourra vous laisser indifférent...

+ Skhizein

Jérémy Clapin, 2008, 35mm, vo st ang, 13'

De combien est-on fou ? On a rarement l’occasion de se poser la question aussi précisément que Henry, antihéros de ce court métrage surréaliste, qui se voit décalé de 91cm par rapport à lui-même suite à une collision malencontreuse avec une météorite !

20.03 > 20:00 + 22.03 > 18:00


Charlie Kaufman, 2008, 35mm, vo st fr & nl, 124'

Grâce à une prestigieuse bourse, Caden - un metteur en scène de théâtre névrotique, obsédé par d’étranges maladies et interprété par Philip Seymour Hoffman - peut enfin réaliser la pièce de ses rêves. Dans un gigantesque hangar, il reconstitue New York, son appartement et même sa propre existence. Ce qui suit est difficilement descriptible. Fiction, souvenirs et réalité s’entremêlent et nous égarent. Plusieurs années s’écoulent et, de même que Caden lui-même, le film perd progressivement toute attache avec le réel. Dans le dédale d’intrigues et de niveaux de réalité nous reconnaissons la griffe de Charlie Kaufman, le scénariste de "Being John Malkovich", "Adaptation" et "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind". Avec "Synecdoche" il signe sa première réalisation et donne libre cours à sa logique singulière. Le résultat est un "méta-film" unique, intrigant, mystérieux et complètement dément.

+ Din Of Celestial Birds

E. Elias Merhige, 2006, 35mm, sans dial, , 14'

Au moyen de techniques renvoyant à l’histoire du cinéma toute entière, le réalisateur de "Begotten" et "Shadow of the Vampire" crée une vision enchanteresse du mystère de la création et de l’évolution de la conscience.

22.03 > 20:00


squelettes/rubrique-3.html
lang: fr
id_rubrique: 1179
prog: 1176
pos: aval