Nova ?

Nova is a movie theatre that opened at the end of January, 1997, in the center of Brussels. The theatre’s programming is dedicated to independently produced films and videos. The Nova Cinema is therefore not a commercial screen, rather a non-profit organization managed by a collective of individuals who work on a volunteer basis. In existence for over a decade now, Nova has become an important reference point for alternative, unconventional or simply different approaches to the audiovisual arts, in Belgium and abroad.

Nova offers monthly programming and events with films and program elements selected to complement chosen (and always changing) themes. Nova also organizes events that bring new, contemporary productions to the screen and offer a general platform for discussion. Nova’s program includes events such as ’The Open Screen’, ’Live Soundtracks", "TV Nova", "Midnight Screenings", "Ears Open" and "Cineketje"... as well as frequent special events organized in collaboration with external associations and groups. Nova screens short, medium and full length feature films, documentaries and experimental films that can’t find distribution in Belgium or are too "difficult" to screen in commercial cinemas.

Nova, with years of programming and curatorial work under its belt, has naturally evolved into a small distribution house. And after dedicating so much attention to different workshops and alternative production methods, it has also put into place its own production structure.

Above all, Nova is a social venue, a space that opens its doors to all disciplines. A variety of different creative forms of expression — visual art, photography, music, performance, etc. — is regularly featured in the spaces and bar located beneath the cinema. The bar-café welcomes diverse crowds and brings them together for meetings, debates, exhibits, installations, performances, workshops as well as events like the Microboutiek, DJs, concerts and parties.

It is difficult to pack everything about this "house of living cinema" and how it’s managed into a few paragraphs. So we invite you to please come and discover the Nova Cinema in person!

[Click on the logo to download it in high resolution or download vector file below]

Is Cinema dead? When it comes to exploring this artistic medium, a medium that provides space for so many practices to come into play, the debate is intense and often unheard. In a time when the lines between art/entertainment/industry are rotting away, it’s difficult to come across films that haven’t been backed by enormous production and marketing budgets. Cinema Nova, a one screen movie theatre in the centre of Brussels, opened its doors in 1997. Its goal: to provide access to alternative, unconventional and challenging cinematic approaches.

Nova is a non-profit association that operates entirely on the dedication and sweat of its volunteer staff. Thanks to their years of commitment, the cinema’s reach and reputation has long since spread past Belgium’s borders.

Nova offers diverse monthly programming based on selected thematic threads. In addition to screening contemporary and historic films, Nova organizes a variety of special events like the Open Screen, Live Soundtracks, TV Nova, Ears Open, Cineketje and Midnight Screenings. Throughout the year, Nova is also a proud collaborative partner on national an international events like the Brussels Fantasy Film Festival. The Nova screen is open to all formats and welcomes a mix of short, medium and full length feature films, as well as documentaries, experimental short films and videos that were either never properly distributed in Belgium or simply shunned by the conservative commercial circuit.

After years of programming screenings, establishing an international network, and organizing events, Nova has naturally evolved to establish additional structures to support cinema. It has not only become a small distribution house, bu. thanks to its focus on different workshops and alternative production methods, it has begun to develop its own production structure.

In the spirit of Cinema, Nova also strives to make space for other mediums. Performance art, political forums, musical gigs, the Microboutiek, and a slew of visual arts are displayed on a regular basis in the Nova Bar located beneath the cinema. Drinks are cheap, conversation is easy to come by, and DJs provide the right atmosphere to bring together diverse crowds . Like the theatre space, the Nova Bar and studio are aimed at sharing and stimulating discussions and experiences.

The true scope of Nova is hard to pack into one introduction. If you are curious about this "house of living cinema", we encourage you to send an email to a member of our team or, better yet, to stop by and see the space for yourself!

Nova was created to explore and articulate the realities and alternatives of an increasingly commercialised and polarised society. A society dominated by media technology, the ethics of privatisation and the conformity of images. It was born from a desire to develop tools and a space for research, reflection, connection, confrontation, creation and experimentation in the realm of images, particularly in cinema.

> From the "theatre crisis" to today"

These objectives were made concrete in 1997 as part of a programming and revitalisation effort to save an old abandoned Brussels cinema from demolition. The rehabilitation process gave birth to "Cinema Nova", a space for inter-cultural expression and social critique, articulated by the use of contemporary artistic and non-artistic audiovisual media.

> Here and now

While anchored in the urban realities of Brussels, the originality of its programming policy earns the Nova a unique place in the city. The venue is recognized as a space for discovery, dialogue and conviviality. At the same time, the cinema’s programme deviates from economic and other conformities: The project utilises public space to re-politicise (in the etymological sense of the word) and provide an opening toward the world, and to take part in social and societal change.

As today’s media and economic powers become more and more concentrated, it is imperative that we develop alternative forms and avenues of expression and establish collective structures of power and knowledge.

> Polymorphic platform

Nova uses audiovisual and cultural expression in the broadest sense: as a tool to educate, sensitise, provide training and engage in debate. It hosts activities that revolve around social and societal questions in an effort to create a context for reflection. It is devoted in particular to the screening, distribution, production and promotion of audiovisual works in a creative, political and contemporary context.

Nova is a project in constant bloom. Its screen is open to works created under an ethos of artistic, economic and ethical independence and autonomy; works that display an investigation of form as well as content.

In also reserves a place for minority genres; those disqualified or denigrated by a certain orthodoxy. It aims to de-mystify cinema by screening films by untrained filmmakers, non-professional film or video formats, low budget productions; without restricting their duration, etc.

Nova sees cinema as an experience nourished by multiple artistic and cultural influences; as a language for both deciphering and constructing the world; and as the expression of personal, subjective and original vision, free from the status quo.

Nova does not limit itself to simply presenting this creativity, but seeks to contextualise the work with recourse to community, mixed and transcending genres, and to a common sensitivity or theme.
It therefore searches for new perspectives and thematic contexts. Nevertheless, the programme is not limited to this approach and does not seek to pigeonhole works and place them in artificial categories or a pre-established discourse. Nova strives instead to offer a platform, to support and foster the creative expression of different communities or parts of the population that are never or rarely represented in traditional media or in society in general. It proposes this through individual or collective interventions and analyses conducted independently of the audio-visual industry.

> Branches of programming

Alongside films, Nova’s programme includes events such as concerts, dinners and debates to create a convivial environment. This interdisciplinary approach helps to attract a diverse public and bring together a multitude of viewpoints and responses.

A programme is not conceived by an individual, it involves a collective effort and dialogue. Which is why Nova refuses to hand the job over to curators or other artistic directors. Although Nova does not accommodate "ready made" programming, it is open to exterior collaborations that embody the spirit of true exchange and coincide with the cinema’s social objectives.

Cinema cannot be disassociated from life nor can it superimpose itself on life. Cinema is an important medium with which to connect and confront "social movements", to cultivate individuality and create alliances, however transient they may be.

Nova is a collective in perpetual being, composed of creators, producers, spectators, and audiovisual media. They are activists in providing a critical understanding of images and democratising audiovisual expression.

The association strives to provide accessibility to marginalized social groups, whether they be cultural minorities or minority cultures. Nova’s programmes are created by and with individuals and collectives wanting to tackle certain issues without subjecting them to institutional filters.

> Putting it into practice

Borders between creators, producers and the public are fluid and open.

The public is not regarded as a passive ensemble of "consumers" but as individuals capable of expression and creation.

Nova seeks to compose from the heterogeneous multi-cultural, multi-lingual realities of Brussels. Every Nova spectator is a potential "participant". The audiences are composed of individuals with different backgrounds, different social conditions and sensibilities that enrich the programme with their own experience. This gives Nova its platform identity, a place to exchange different dynamics, one of Nova’s original founding ideas.

This programming ethos also culminates in a number of international networks and collaborations between individuals and collectives who also wish to pool and exchange their knowledge and practices. Thus, Nova takes the legal shape of an international, non-profit association.

> How it works

Nova does not seek to generate profit and is not subjected in any way to direct or indirect commercial interests or business objectives. Accordingly, it also avoids affiliation with any political party, trade union, public agent, community or any other group or ideology.

> Financial sources

In this spirit, the association has never resorted to publicity and marketing as a financial source, be they in Nova’s publications, programmes or the places that accommodate them.

Nova is not a service provider. External requests must uphold the association’s objectives and manifesto. They are secondary to the other resources and have no influence on the design and independence of Nova.

The association exercises a clear accessibility policy. It organises many free events and offers the lowest possible admission to the activities that require paid entrance.

> Nova and public authorities

Many of Nova’s activities can only be realised with the financial support of the public authorities. This allows the project to operate as a non-profit organisation. Nova considers it legitimate to undergo evaluations by public authorities so long as the evaluations conducted relate to procedure and does not question the content of Nova’s programmes. Nova pleads for co-evaluation practices to be implemented rather than hierarchical "top-down" evaluation so that accountability is ensured amongst all actors: funding authorities, association and users. Obtaining public subsidies should neither place conditions nor modify the operation, contents, or editorial policy of Nova adopted by its members. Nova has no intention of renouncing its multi-community, intercultural vision of Brussels. Since Nova does not consider itself a cultural windo. on one specific community, it is open to support and financing from all and any authorities that have cultural competences in Brussels. In this way, Nova can assert its multiform and transversal nature. Though aware that the divided nature of cultural policy can make this form of action difficult, Nova tries not to limit itself to any one sector of activity or to a set of overly-specific or compromising conditions. To do so would position the association in a logic that it did not choose of its own will.

> Degrees of involvement

Nova relies mainly on the voluntary work of its members and their acquisition, division and transmission of knowledge. The collective must ensure that different degrees of involvement remain possible at all times. Nova constantly questions and researches the balance between the individual and the collective so as to prevent wearing out the group and its members. The modus operandi defined in by Nova’s statutes favours collective work, wherein each member of the collective participates in the decision-making process. This is carried out by consensus: The collective focuses on a particular issue and engages in discussion, passing from one position to another, to find a solution that encompasses the opinions and thinking of all members.

This practice encourages an interdisciplinary approach. Each project at hand passes through the different areas of expertise of the collective’s members. It is also possible, however, to specialize, as certain tasks may require a level of expertise that can only be reached over time.

The Nova supports an artisanal approach to work. It wants to avoid the shortcomings of "professionalisation" that occur with salaried work. However, it does not reject the principle of remuneration. If the possibility to remunerate certain tasks arises through funding authorities, it can be put into practice with the provision that it does not hamper the voluntary nature of the collective, it does not reduce the funding required to carry out the project, and does not create too great a dependence on subsidies. Whatever the function, anyone that is paid by the Nova is there to support the structure of the collective and discharge the volunteers of certain tasks.

This reliance on voluntary effort, combined with a lack of sufficient funding, has transformed from a necessity to an enriching aspect of collective life that Nova intends to cultivate.

squelettes/rubrique.html

Nova ?

Le Nova est une salle de cinéma ouverte à la fin de janvier 1997 en plein centre de Bruxelles, et dont la programmation est dédiée aux films et vidéos de productions indépendantes. Le cinéma Nova n’est donc pas un écran commercial, c’est une association sans but lucratif gérée par un collectif d’individus travaillant de manière bénévole. En quinze ans d’existence, le Nova est sans doute devenu le point de référence, en Belgique, des approches alternatives, non conventionnelles ou simplement différentes dans le domaine audiovisuel, sa notoriété ayant dépassé les frontières du pays.

Le Nova propose des programmes mensuels tournant autour de lignes thématiques ou événementielles dont l’idée est aussi bien de diffuser les productions nouvelles et contemporaines, que de fournir une plate-forme de discussion au sens large. Dans ce programme, on retrouve notamment des rendez-vous spécifiques tels que l’"Open Screen", les "Live Soundtracks", "TV Nova", les "Nocturnes", le "Ears Open", "Cineketje"... mais aussi, souvent au travers de collaborations avec des associations extérieures, des événements spéciaux. Le Nova diffuse autant des longs que des moyens ou courts métrages de fiction, de documentaire ou expérimentaux qui n’ont pas de distribution en Belgique, ou qui sont trop "difficiles" pour le circuit dit commercial.

De par ce travail propre à la programmation, le Nova est naturellement devenu une petite maison de distribution. Et parce que son intérêt s’est toujours focalisé sur les différents ateliers ou alternatives en matière de production dans le monde, le Nova a commencé à mettre en place sa propre structure de production.

Mais le Nova est aussi un lieu de convivialité ouvert à d’autres disciplines que le cinéma. Des créations picturales, photographiques, musicales, des performances y sont présentées régulièrement, pour peu qu’elles aient un rapport avec l’image. Ainsi, parallèlement à sa programmation et en étroite relation avec elle, le Nova accueille en permanence dans sa salle et son foyer-bar situé en dessous, des rencontres, des débats, des expositions, des installations, des performances, des ateliers, sans oublier la Microboutiek, mais aussi des DJ’s, des musiciens... et un public hétéroclite.

Il est plutôt difficile de résumer en quelques lignes le genre de "maison vivante du film" qu’est le Nova, et comment il est géré. C’est pourquoi nous vous invitons d’urgence à le découvrir sur place !



[Cliquez sur le logo pour le télécharger en haute résolution ou téléchargez l’image vectorielle ci-dessous]



Dans une société où le rôle de l’image et des média de communication est devenu prédominant et tend à l’uniformisation, où le phénomène de privatisation a déjà atteint les services publics, le Nova est né de la volonté d’ouvrir et d’animer des outils et des espaces de recherche, de réflexion, de connexion, de confrontation, de création et d’expérimentation autour de l’image en général et du cinéma en particulier.

- Du "cinéma d’urgence" à aujourd’hui...

Ce projet s’est concrétisé en particulier en 1997 essentiellement mais pas uniquement, autour de l’ouverture, de l’animation et de la programmation d’une ancienne salle de cinéma bruxelloise vouée à l’abandon et à la démolition par la spéculation immobilière. Et de sa réhabilitation en "Cinéma Nova" : un lieu d’expression (inter)culturelle et de critique sociale, articulé autour des usages contemporains, artistiques ou non, des média audiovisuels.

- Ici et maintenant

Ancré dans les réalités bruxelloises, le Nova y occupe une place singulière due à une politique de programmation spécifique et inédite. En tant que lieu, il est identifié comme un espace de découverte, de dialogue et de convivialité. Il est à la fois ce lieu proposant une programmation s’écartant des conformismes comme des standards économiques ; c’est en même temps un projet qui s’inscrit dans une réalité urbaine et sociétale dualisée et dominée par le secteur marchand, un projet qui utilise l’espace public comme lieu d’expression à re politiser (au sens étymologique du terme), et tente de fonctionner en ouverture sur le monde et de participer à des changements sociétaux.

Dans ce contexte où les pouvoirs médiatiques et économiques sont de plus en plus concentrés, il est urgent de développer d’autres modes et d’autres formes d’expression ; des pouvoirs et des savoirs collectifs.

- Plate-forme polymorphe

Le Nova utilise l’expression audiovisuelle et culturelle au sens large comme un moyen d’éducation, de sensibilisation, de formation et de débat. Il propose en effet des activités articulées autour de questions de société et destinées à permettre la réflexion. Il se consacre notamment à la diffusion, à la production et à la promotion d’oeuvres audiovisuelles liées à un contexte créatif et politique contemporain.

Le Nova est un projet en maturation constante. Il se conçoit comme un écran ouvert à des créations réalisées dans une démarche d’indépendance/autonomie artistique, économique et éthique, à des oeuvres qui témoignent d’une recherche au niveau de la forme comme du contenu. Il réserve par ailleurs une place aux genres "mineurs", disqualifiés/dénigrés par une certaine orthodoxie. Il veut participer à démystifier le cinéma en accueillant films d’amateurs, les formats film ou vidéo non professionnels, sans limitation de durée et de support, etc.

Le Nova entend le cinéma comme expérience se nourrissant d’influences artistiques et culturelles multiples, comme "langage" pour décrypter/construire le monde et comme expression de visions personnelles/singulières/subjectives non soumises à une pensée dominante/majoritaire.

Le Nova ne se contente pas de présenter des créations, mais cherche à les contextualiser par rapport à une communauté, un brassage de genres, une sensibilité ou une démarche commune.
Cette mise en perspective est donc régulièrement thématique. Néanmoins, il ne s’agit pas de limiter la programmation à ce type d’approche, ni d’enfermer ces oeuvres dans des catégories artificielles ou des discours préétablis. Il s’agit de susciter, de soutenir et de favoriser l’expression de communautés ou de catégories de la population peu ou pas représentées dans les média traditionnels et dans la société en général ; par le développement d’analyses et de démarches, collectives ou personnelles, menées indépendamment des logiques de l’industrie audiovisuelle.

- Axes programmatiques

Les programmations se conçoivent tels des rendez-vous, qui outre les films, apporteront une vie particulière (rencontres, débats, concerts, repas ?) et une convivialité. Une approche diversifiée et transdisciplinaire est souhaitable pour s’ouvrir à divers publics et pour densifier/complexifier/croiser différents langages/formes/approches d’une même question.

Une programmation n’est pas un projet individuel, elle engage le collectif et doit être pensée avec lui. D’où le refus de recourir à des curateurs et autres directeurs artistiques. Le Nova n’accueille pas de programmation "clef sur porte". Il est ouvert aux collaborations extérieures pour autant que l’esprit de cette collaboration soit le fruit d’un réel échange et coïncide avec l’objet social du Nova.
Le cinéma ne peut être dissocié/déconnecté de la vie, ou se superposer à elle. Il est important de se connecter et de se confronter avec les "mouvements sociaux" et tout le tissu associatif, créer des alliances, même passagères, tout en cultivant nos singularités.
Le Nova est un collectif (en perpétuel devenir) composé d’usagers (créateurs, producteurs, spectateurs ?) des média audiovisuels, militant pour une éducation critique à l’image et la démocratisation des moyens d’expression audiovisuels.

L’association entend favoriser l’accès aux groupes sociaux qui en sont coupés, qu’il s’agisse de minorités culturelles ou de cultures minoritaires. Les programmations du Nova se font par/en lien avec des personnes et collectivités concernées par les thèmes et cultures abordées sans toutefois se subordonner à des filtres institutionnels.

- Une mise en pratique

La frontière entre les publics, les usagers et les membres est aussi ouverte que possible.

Le public est considéré non comme un ensemble de "consommateurs" passifs mais comme autant de singularités aptes à l’expression et à la création.

Le Nova désire composer avec la réalité hétérogène de Bruxelles, s’ancrer dans les réalités polyglottes et interculturelles de cette ville. Chaque spectateur du Nova y est un "acteur" potentiel. Il est composé de personnes aux origines, aux conditions et aux sensibilités différentes, chacune enrichissant le projet avec son expérience. Ce qui permet aussi de penser le projet en terme de "plate-forme" (lieu d’échange de différentes dynamiques), idée présente dès l’origine de l’association.

Mais les projets du Nova portent bien au-delà de cette région, suscitant notamment des mises en réseau à un niveau international différents échanges ou collaborations, entre personnes/subjectivités/singularités et collectifs ayant des approches ou des démarches similaires/affinitaires, ce pourquoi le Nova a opté pour la forme juridique de l’association (internationale) sans but lucratif. Ce réseau permet des échanges de savoirs, de pratiques et des mises en commun.

- À propos du fonctionnement

Le Nova ne recherche pas le profit et ne se soumet en aucune façon au contrôle direct ou indirect de sociétés d’intérêts économiques ou commerciaux. Il ne se subordonne, de même, à aucun parti politique, syndicat, mandataire public, communauté, ni à une quelconque idéologie englobante.

- Ressources financières

Dans cet esprit, l’association n’a jamais recours à la publicité et au marketing comme source de financement, que ce soit dans ses publications, ses programmations ou dans le lieu qui accueille ces dernières.
Le Nova n’agit pas comme un prestataire de service. Les prestations qu’il effectue pour des demandes extérieures doivent être en adéquation avec l’objet et le "Manifeste" du Nova, rester subordonnées à d’autres types de ressources, et ne pouvant avoir aucune influence sur la conception et l’indépendance du projet.
L’association pratique une politique d’accessibilité, en organisant notamment des activités gratuites et en veillant à maintenir au plus bas le tarif de ses activités payantes.

- La relation aux pouvoirs publics

La plupart des activités du Nova ne seraient pas réalisables sans un soutien financier des pouvoirs publics, permettant au projet de ne pas être soumis à une logique de rentabilité. Le Nova considère comme légitime d’être évalué par ceux-ci, tant que cette évaluation porte sur des questions de processus et ne devienne pas une ingérence dans des questions de contenu. Plutôt qu’une évaluation de type "ascendante", le Nova plaide pour des pratiques de coévaluation, associant les instances subsidiantes aux associations et aux usagers. L’obtention de subsides publics ne doit ni conditionner ni modifier la démarche, le contenu, la ligne éditoriale ou encore le mode de fonctionnement du Nova, tels que ses membres les ont adoptés/définis/construits. Ainsi, le Nova n’entend pas renoncer à une vision multicommunautaire et interculturelle de Bruxelles. Ne se concevant pas comme la vitrine culturelle d’une quelconque communauté, il lui est donc indispensable d’être soutenu par toutes les instances ayant des compétences culturelles à Bruxelles. De même, le Nova affirme le caractère multiforme et transversal de son projet. Bien qu’il soit conscient que ce type de démarche est rendu difficile par le cloisonnement des politiques culturelles, il tente de ne se laisser enfermer dans aucun "secteur" d’activités, par aucune étiquette restrictive, ni par un cahier des charges trop spécifique qui placerait l’association dans une logique qu’elle n’a pas volontairement choisie.

- Degrés d’implication

Le Nova repose en grande partie sur l’implication bénévole de ses membres et sur l’acquisition, le partage et la transmission de savoirs entre eux. Le collectif doit veiller à permettre que différents degrés d’implication soient toujours possibles en son sein. Au Nova, l’équilibre individu/collectif fait l’objet d’une recherche et d’un questionnement constants, notamment pour pallier l’usure du groupe et de ses membres. Son fonctionnement, détaillé dans ses statuts et dans son mode d’emploi, favorise/permet le travail en collectif et la participation de chacun à la prise de décision. Celle-ci s’effectue par "consensus" : le collectif se contraint, à partir d ?une attention particulière au dispositif de prise de paroles, à trouver une solution qui soit capable de prendre en compte les opinions/pensées de chacun.
La possibilité de passer d’une position à une autre, au sein de l’association, est une manière de permettre cette pratique collective. La polyvalence est dès lors encouragée, tant la réalisation des projets passe par différentes étapes nécessitant chacune des connaissances fort diverses. Des formes de spécialisation sont néanmoins possibles, car certaines tâches nécessitent notamment une expérience accrue qui ne s’acquiert que sur la durée.

Le Nova favorise une approche artisanale du travail. Il veut éviter les travers suscités par la "professionnalisation" qu’implique le recours au salariat. Il ne rejette pas pour autant le principe de la rémunération. Si une possibilité s’offre de procéder à une forme de rémunération, elle peut être mise en pratique à condition de ne pas amoindrir ou remplacer un fonctionnement collectif mis en place par et avec des bénévoles, de ne pas réduire à portion congrue les moyens destinés à réaliser les projets, ainsi que d’éviter de créer une trop grande dépendance à l’octroi d’une subvention. Quelle que soit sa fonction, une personne rémunérée ponctuellement ou régulièrement au Nova l’est pour soutenir la structure collective et décharger les bénévoles de certaines tâches.

Le bénévolat, qui s’est imposé comme une nécessité propre au démarrage d’un tel projet, en l’absence de moyens financiers suffisants, a apporté une richesse que le Nova tient à maintenir et à cultiver.